Earl Cup - NEFA vs Maine!

5/22/2011 by John Borelli

Courtesy Josh Connell

The Earl Cup originated in 1998 when Bob Enman challenged the NEFA President to put together a roster to compete in a Ryder Cup-style team event. The winning team goes home with the Earl Cup trophy, named in honor of Bob's late father Earl, the original owner of Enman Field (back when it was an airstrip).

Each year, the current NEFA President selects the President's team from among NEFA members. Bob Enman selects the Pilots team from among Dragon Disc Golf Pilots (our club for players who have registered 20+ rounds lifetime on our courses).

(Click to enlarge). Photo Tim Walsh

Roster criteria for this year is two women, one grandmaster, three sub-950 rated players including at least one master, and 14 open spots.

All competition is match play format. Round 1 is Best Shot doubles. Round 2 is Best Score doubles. Round 3 is Singles. Team that wins the most points (1 per match) wins the Cup.

Earl Cup history:

1998: NEFA win @ Enman Field Beast
1999: NEFA win @ Buffumville Lake
2000: Pilots win @ Enman Field Beast
2001: NEFA win @ Buffumville Lake
2002: Pilots win @ Enman Field Beast
2003: NEFA win @ Pyramids
2004: NEFA win @ Enman Field Beauty
2005: NEFA win @ Maple Hill
2006: Pilots win @ Enman Field Beast
2007: NEFA win @ Barre Falls Dam
2008: NEFA win @ Enman Field Beast
2009: NEFA win @ Maple Hill
2010: Pilots win @ Enman Field Beast
2011: ????? win @ Maple Hill

NEFA leads all time 9-4.


This post is more than 700 days old, further comments have been disabled.