Which disc is not in the basket?

5/18/2010 by John Borelli

Question: Which disc is not officially in the basket?

Answer: All discs but the yellow one will complete the hole once the owner gets to the basket and removes it before it possibly falls down and out.

Check out the PDGA's new Rules School feature where rules are broken down, clarified, and illustrated. This week's rule deals with interference and answers the often-debated "Is this disc officially in the basket?"


by jimbob on 5/18/2010 at 10:55:40 AM
"Sir, could you give me the definition of 'in', please?" "Yes, in: not on, around, under, or over, but within. Sesame street stuff." Looks to me as if three discs aren't "in" the basket at all: the yellow one, the one balancing on the rim and the one hanging from the rim. The two within the chains look good to me. If an Innova Discatcher was used, the yellow one would not even come into play, for the Discatcher metal band has nothing extended from it for a disc to hang onto. The orange one tacoed into the side is more reasonably "into" the basket, and this happens more often, albeit rarely, than the other 'hangers'.

by Titan on 5/19/2010 at 5:50:14 AM
they fail to show a few other instances where it "should" be a good "putt" IMO......

by Thomas on 5/19/2010 at 2:26:48 PM
The yellow disc would not be a good put. It is not suspended by the basket or the chains it is comparable to a basket landing on the top of the basket. All others would be a good put.

by pete on 5/19/2010 at 3:55:20 PM
i believe u could say that the orange one balanced on the rim has not yet come to rest. The chance that it is still moving is high.

by AdamG on 5/21/2010 at 12:22:47 PM
I agree, however, I think the yellow disc could be considered "in" if it is touching a chain (which it appears to be doing). This way one could argue that he chains are supporting it!

This post is more than 700 days old, further comments have been disabled.